Hooray for My First April Feels Day Experience!

Ever since I’ve read Mina V. Esguerra’s Fairy Tale Fail and heard about this community of romance authors in the Philippines, I’ve become so engrossed in #romanceclass. It didn’t help that the group were making a noise in various social media platforms because my curiosity just got the best of me. So after years of fangirling and being a silent reader, I decided to attend one of their events.

c26652cc-a805-4b4b-bf74-bcc4771c1afd_zpswy4l8q1m

April Feels Day is the most awaited time of the year for #romanceclass. It is somewhat of an annual meet-up for the authors and their readers. Since it is my first time, I went with a friend who has more knowledge (than me) about this community.

9bab8199-1a85-46df-9ba4-1235efa45ea0_zpsubszqvlq

That’s Claridge Gamboa or Adgie of Booknomnom on the left. Months before the event was announced, we already made a pact that we shouldn’t allow ourselves to miss this chance. So we really made ourselves available last April 30, 2017.

Venue – Urban Turf, UP Town Center

Urban Turf is located at the second floor of UP Town Center near Rodic’s and adjacent to DAISO. From UP, we walked up the footbridge that is connected to the mall’s entrance and crossed to the other building where Urban Turf is.

When we got there, the space was well-lit with magical blue lights and the tables were decorated with some artsy stuff like flowers that were made of crepe paper.

05c653df-c0a5-42cf-bcf3-c778be903cb2_zpsl9bwxlbw

Book Browsing Table

796b309e-dcd6-4df9-9cdc-caed3b475dab_zpsks2cdzae

Props for picture-taking

5c77b7c5-9b97-4df1-9caa-9e99e73696be_zpseej4udtx

Artist Janus Aragones-Zate working on some watercolor art

1005ef10-1845-46a6-8d7d-456e2974bbc7_zpso6qi9pzp

That’s Mina V. Esguerra speaking before the live readings begin

978d3db3-07b8-464f-981e-68f84d2aa4d0_zpsgknctjjr

Tara Frejas and Six delos Reyes – authors of Summer Crush

Books, Books, Books!

Feelings everywhere! “hugots” that were scattered on the shelves. If I were rich I’d buy all of these. They’re just so tempting…I can’t even. Huhu

3491f044-2a15-4656-b2f9-9fd1d80a8d34_zpsn9iowmia

Decorated book shelves

d2cde888-4583-442e-a96e-2ad332ebde0c_zpss5pq5lgo

New Releases

7d54bca3-5f9c-4900-940a-00452a494056_zpsfxe6r681

Romance Books

Lovely Authors 

I regret that I didn’t get a chance to take a picture with other authors but here are my photos with Jay E. Tria, Tara Frejas, and Six de los Reyes respectively.

P.S. I’m currently reading their book titled Summer Crush.

Live Readings

As much as I’d love to take videos of all the live readings, my phone doesn’t have enough space anymore so here are the excerpts I took from three of my favorites! ❤

Keeping the Distance by Clarisse David

Performed by Migs Almendras and Gracielle So

Fake It ‘Till We Make It by Ana Tejano

Performed by Fred Lo and Vanya Castro

#LiveReadings: Fred Lo and Vanya Castro #aprilfeelsday2017 #romanceclass #amreading 😍

A post shared by Marge Serrano (@serranomarge) on

Better at Weddings Than You by Mina V. Esguerra

Performed by Gio Gahol and Rachel Coates

#LiveReadings: Gio Gahol and Rachel Coates #aprilfeelsday2017 #romanceclass #amreading 💖

A post shared by Marge Serrano (@serranomarge) on

Bonus: I have a picture with Migs Almendras, yay! ❤

How Was the Experience?

Honestly, April Feels Day 2017 exceeds expectations. I thought it would be some book club meeting with serious spoken word but since it’s romance that we’re talking about, the KILIG was evident. It was like fire fueled by passion that the venue started to heat up like a steam engine when the live readings began.

It is more than just meeting the authors who you only get to know through their writing. It’s more than meeting new people, it’s making connections and acquaintances. I loved how I came face-to-face with a bunch of interesting authors. They were all romantic heroes who put a ray of sunshine in this world with their stories about love, friendship, and hope.

The event was superbly fun! I really wish I could be part of this community of authors, someday. Well, one can only dream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

