EVENT RECAP: Let’s Talk About Publishing Fiction by Bronze Age Media, Inc.

Publishing fiction has been a dream of mine ever since I was a kid. I’ve always wanted to be a writer to share the stories of people around me, in order to make a difference in their lives and the lives of others. I could still recall that I would recycle my notebooks in elementary, redecorate the covers, and write fanfics on them.

Then Wattpad came in 2010, but it was only in 2011 that I joined the biggest community of fiction writers and readers online. I’ve written a couple of Filipino and English stories on the site, some of which I’ve unpublished because I was trying to edit them.

Ten and more manuscripts later, I decided to learn more about publishing to suffice what I haven’t learned in school. After all, we shouldn’t be contented with what we have because learning is a never-ending process.

So now, let’s talk about publishing fiction!

pub

Bronze Age Media Inc. is a company established by Filipino independent authors like Mina V. Esguerra. Their goal is to help aspiring authors get published independently or traditionally through workshops. They are also  the group behind #romanceclass.

A day of talks from my favorite independent (Filipino) authors for only P2,000 is really worth it! I was even starstruck and the fangirl inside me almost embarrassed me. 😀

There you go. That’s Mina V. Esguerra, Carla De Guzman, Ansela Corsino, and Layla Tanjutco with me. ❤

Online Publishing – Ansela Corsino

img_5977

The first one to take the stage was Ansela Corsino. She talked about online publishing, which I’d like to say was really her forte. I first learned about her on Wattpad in 2014. She’s one of the Filipino authors there that I looked up to, one that writes full-length novels in English. Her novels don’t sound like they were written by a Filipino at all.

Follow her online and read her novels!

Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/anselacorsino

Website: http://anselacorsino.com/

Wanted: Manuscript –  Layla Tanjutco

img_5989

Layla Tanjutco has worked as an editor for many authors like Mina V. Esguerra. She talked about her experiences as a romance editor, especially the pet peeves that she has. She reiterated that as a romance author, one has to impress not just the readers but also the editors who will work with you throughout the production of the manuscript. And the best thing that an author can do for him/herself is to self-edit. This way, we can prevent errors that might be introduced by editors who fail to meet our expectations.

Follow her on Twitter and buy her latest book!

Self-Publishing – Carla De Guzman

img_5993

Carla De Guzman is the self-published author of Cities, Marry Me Charlotte B., and If the Dress Fits. She talked about her journey as an independent author who started publishing her works in 2015. With enthusiasm, she told us how she used to lie down in bed all day writing fanfiction about her favorite characters. Now, look how far she has come to achieving her goals! She’s definitely a force to be reckoned with in the field of publishing fiction in the Philippines.

By the way, she is also a talented artist who paints and provides cutesy bookmarks with her books. ❤

Follow her on her Website and purchase her books!


If you want to learn more about these authors/editors or you want to expand your knowledge about publishing fiction,  I suggest you meet them or attend one of their seminars.

P.S. I’m sorry about the low-quality pictures. This is not a blogging event so I’m not in full gear. 🙂

marge

Leave a Reply

