Learn a Thing or Two About Faux Calligraphy

faux

Ever wonder what your typical desk pen could do more than just scribble signature on paper? If so, you should probably start experimenting on that ballpoint pen you have.

When I was younger, I used to scribble fun letterings and doodles on my notebook, especially when I’m bored in class. I didn’t know that what I was doing could pass as another technique in calligraphy. I guess it was a hidden passion that was beginning to break free back then.

I’ve learned that using any regular tool for writing, such as a ballpen, pencil, chalk, and marker, in stylish lettering is called Faux Calligraphy. If you have been following my blog, you would notice some of my samples on my previous post.

Faux Calligraphy is achieved when you fake it ’till you make it. 😉

It’s not a form of cheating. I’d rather classify this as another art form that is fun to do. But it’s called fake because you don’t stick to traditional techniques where you spontaneously manipulate your strokes. You have to write each letter first using your normal penmanship and come back to it for another round. Exciting, isn’t it?

Let’s begin!

Simple Steps to Faux Calligraphy

  1. Get a Writing Tool1e4dfc11-b60b-4dbd-a7d9-927a9a47e70d_zpswkjof9di

    According to many, Pilot G-2 is one of the best ballpoint pens in the market. Its sleek design attracts the attention of many buyers. It is also convenient to carry around due to its clip. You can just clip it on your notebook and bring it anywhere you go.

    Moreover, its gel ink writes smooth on the paper. I just find its tip a little bit too sharp. Or maybe I just prefer pens that come in 1mm. ball point.


  2. Choose and Write Your Word, Phrase, or Quote of the Daye810659c-0d4a-4b7f-9ef8-b59f08e520ef_zpswu4ou7mi

    As you can see, I’ve chosen a quote instead of a word or a phrase. And it’s not just any quote, it has been my mantra since college. I just find it so inspiring and fitting for someone like me who believes that there are no limits in chasing your dreams. Make it happen, loves! ❤


  3. Recreate the Downward Strokes65edabd7-4c0c-4595-96d1-f535104dcbed_zps834uzyy3

    Now that you have a pen and a quote written on a pad, start tracing the downward strokes for each letter. We are going to reinforce them later on so you have to leave some space for shading. Just imitate your first strokes so that it would appear as though you have a double vision. 😛


  4. Start Shading or Filling In Each Stroke291b5032-6a9d-43e1-8148-27ed01e9f507_zpscs9aga29

    Here comes the best part, shading! Fill in each stroke like a pro or like you’re shading for a test. Better get straight As, so don’t mess up!9a9afa8d-67e8-4954-8ffd-9966a60e3c62_zpstdb9plmt

     


Finished Product

Tadaaa!!! This how it would look like once you’re done. It resembles calligraphy using a fountain pen, isn’t it?

430507f0-59aa-4ea5-b871-a8fc6a4e5521_zpscljyhhta

f0bf5b08-04e6-4197-b53b-858dc906f508_zpspkqeetsv

I hope this tutorial will inspire you to work on your own Faux Calligraphy. Let me know what you think in the comments section below!

marge

One thought on “Learn a Thing or Two About Faux Calligraphy

Leave a Reply

