10 Love Songs That Will Give You All the Feels

woman-girl-technology-music-large

Now that the sweater-weather has finally arrived, we can either Netflix and chill or just slip into our PJs and basically do nothing all day. If there’s really nothing else you’d rather do, you might as well just plug in your earphones and listen to sappy songs.

So sit down and let me pass around a box of tissue because these are the songs that might be too much to handle.

1. Somebody Else – The 1975

Breakups  for ordinary people are just as bad as breakups for famous band members like The 1975 frontman Matt Healy. With this tenth track in their latest album, I Like it When You Sleep, for You Are so Beautiful Yet so Unaware of It, they explored some of the complicated feelings going on between past lovers after ending their relationship.

If this song won’t give you chills, then I don’t know what will.

I don’t want your body
But I hate to think about you with somebody else
Our love has gone cold
You’re intertwining your soul with somebody else
I’m looking through you
While you’re looking through your phone
And then leaving with somebody else
No, I don’t want your body
But I’m picturing your body with somebody else

2. All Too Well – Taylor Swift

As one of the last women standing in the TS fandom, I will probably include a song from her on this list.

This heart-wrenching track from Red will give you a major throwback to your past relationship. All Too Well was the first song TS has written for the album and it turned out to be one of the finest.

TS has masterfully crafted a narrative of a relationship from start to finish (as always). And this one’s not just an ordinary relationship, it’s hers and Jake Gyllenhaal’s. I just love how the metaphors are woven into a single piece and how she never fails to amaze me.

Cause there we are again in the middle of the night
We’re dancing round the kitchen in the refrigerator light
Down the stairs, I was there, I remember it all too well, yeah

Maybe we got lost in translation
Maybe I asked for too much
But maybe this thing was a masterpiece
‘Till you tore it all up
Running scared, I was there, I remember it all too well

And you call me up again just to break me like a promise
So casually cruel in the name of being honest
I’m a crumpled up piece of paper lying here
Cause I remember it all, all, all… too well

3. I Do – Susie Suh

When you hear this song, you know there’s nothing that can stop a girl like Susie Suh when it comes to love. My heart was instantly touched by the passion conveyed through the lyrics. The Bakman Tapes (her album) was released in 2010 but I knew the first time I listened to it on Spotify just this 2016, it’s gonna be my anthem of the year. Why? Because folk is life. ❤

I don’t know
What am I sayin’ here
There’s a hole in my heart and it’s beggin’ please
Maybe now everything will be so clear
‘Cus you’re all I’ll ever need

All I know is, I don’t want to lose control
I just want to touch your soul
I do, I do

I just want to hold you when the goings tough
I just want to love you when you’re not enough
I just want to give you all that I can give
I do, I do

I just want to kiss you in the morning sun
I just want to love you when the day is done
I just want to hold you just because I can
I do, I do

I just want to fold you up into my arms
I just want to listen to your beating heart
I just want to love you just because I do
I do, I do

4. Over and Over Again – Nathan Sykes Ft. Arianna Grande

Nathan Sykes is undeniably cute, so does this track from his debut album as a solo artist. It’s just so adorable to hear a man vow to his special someone with all honesty and sincerity. Not to mention the fact that the girl (Arianna Grande) he’s addressing his feelings to replied and vowed the same way. It’s just so beautiful and romantic.

But for girls who have experienced heartbreak, this probably becomes a sad love song  as it’ll just make you hope for perfect illusions surrounding the idea of love.

So don’t ever think I need more
I’ve got the one to live for
No one else will do
I’m telling you
Just put your heart in my hands
I promise it won’t get broken
We’ll never forget this moment
It will stay brand new
‘Cause I’ll love you
Over and over again

5. We Can Never Go Back – Joy Williams

Following the breakup of the famous singing duo The Civil Wars, Joy Williams recorded a few songs as a solo artist. These includes the controversial love song We Can Never Go Back as there are many speculations that this was written for her former bandmate, John Paul White. If so, I admire her for having the guts to tell the world of her regrets.

Remember when you loved me
Remember when I let
Remember when it hurt like nothing else
Wanna try that again

Remember when we fought together
It was us against the world
Remember how close we came
Wanna try that again… again

We can never go back
We can only go on and on
We can never go back
We can only go on and on and on
Go on and on and on

6. Surround You – Echosmith

If you’re feeling down and you need a lift, then this song is perfect for you. It reminds every one of us that love is just around the corner, waiting for you, and surrounding you. You can find it with your special someone, your colleagues, and even strangers you’ll meet along the way.

Wherever you are
Whenever you need me
Just crawl in my arms
Oh, and I’ll hold you beside me

I want my love to surround you
And I’ll just sing it out

7. First Heartbreak – Tori Kelly

In this song, Tori reminds us of the vulnerabilities that we have the first time we fall in love. There’s the fear of losing your SO and having your first heartbreak that’s why you either won’t allow him to break down your walls or you try not get so attached to him. But love is not a game you can play safe and eventually, you’ll find yourself slowly opening up to him. And whether you like it or not, you’ll definitely have to risk your heart.

Maybe I shouldn’t be thinking so far ahead
Better just enjoy this moment and be happy for what I get
But you know it’s not that easy to get out of my head
So I guess that it’s a good thing when you want something so bad

Cause for the first time, I get worried when I’m looking in your eyes
That one day, you might leave me, and it keeps me up at night
I guess that means I really love you, cause I’m afraid to make mistakes
If you ever left me, that would be my first heartbreak

I wanna run, I wanna stay
Hold every piece so it won’t break
Wanna let go, wanna hold tight
Afraid that I might suffocate
You with my love
How much is enough?
How much is too safe?

8. She Used to be Mine – Sara Bareilles

Women who have been with abusive partners would very much relate to the message of this song. It’s about learning to love yourself and finding confidence after painful circumstances that have caused you to lose your old self. This song refers to Jenna, the character whom the song was made for in the musical Waitress.

All I can say is that Sara is the best choice to play Jenna’s character in the musical. After all, her vocal prowess is unbelievable.

She’s imperfect, but she tries
She is good, but she lies
She is hard on herself
She is broken and won’t ask for help
She is messy, but she’s kind
She is lonely most of the time
She is all of this mixed up and baked in a beautiful pie
She is gone, but she used to be mine

It’s not what I asked for
Sometimes life just slips in through a back door
And carves out a person and makes you believe it’s all true
And now I’ve got you
And you’re not what I asked for
If I’m honest, I know I would give it all back
For a chance to start over and rewrite an ending or two
For the girl that I knew

9. Hate to See Your Heartbreak – Paramore ft. Joy Williams

For those who do not know, this song was written by Hayley Williams for her friend and Paramore’s guitarist, Taylor York. A love song is not just given to a special someone (who have the potential to hurt you despite the love you’ve given them) but also to friends who have played a significant role in your life.

I’m sure nobody wants to see their friends suffer so this could be a perfect track to recommend when your friend’s going through tough times.

There is not a single word
In the whole world
That could describe the hurt
The dullest knife just sawing back and forth
And ripping through the softest skin there ever was

How were you to know?
Oh, how were you to know?

And I
I hate to see your heart break
I hate to see your eyes get darker as they close
But I’ve been there before
And I
I hate to see your heart break
I hate to see your eyes get darker as they close
But I’ve been there before

Love happens all the time
To people who aren’t kind
And heroes who are blind
Expecting perfect scripted movie scenes
Who wants an awkward silent mystery?

How were you to know?
Well, how were you to know-oh-oh?

10. When You Love Someone – James TW

When I learned about what inspired James to write this song, I thought faith in humanity was restored. He wrote this song for his  11-year old student whose parents were getting a divorce that the kid didn’t know about. It’s about understanding the choices people make especially when they love someone. In this case, it’s how James wanted the boy to understand the parents’ separation in a positive light.

It don’t make sense, but nevertheless
You gotta believe us, it’s all for the best
It don’t make sense
The way things go
Son you should know

Sometimes moms and dads fall out of love
Sometimes two homes are better than one
Some things you can’t tell your sister cause she’s still too young
Yeah you’ll understand
When you love someone

There ain’t no one here to blame
Nothing’s going to change with your old friends
Your room will stay the same
Cause you’ll only be away on the weekends

Leave a Reply

